ATHLEISURE 101

Hello there! I hope this finds you well, safe and healthy? I know it’s too late into the year to say Happy New Year, besides it has been one hell of a ride already so far😟…so allow me to leave it at that?

If you’re into fashion, then you have probably heard the term “ATHLEISURE” by now. Probably two years ago or so. If not, then allow me to tell you what that is. Athleisure refers to clothes that are inspired by gym wear but can also be worn outside the gym or any other athletic activities. Items like hoodies, sweatpants, joggers, compression pants and so forth are just some of such clothes.

Somehow, these made their way into what we wear on the daily and have quickly become acceptable as part of our day to day wear.

“Why should you try it?🤔 “You may ask. I’d say the main reason you should try it is COMFORT. When it comes to clothing, I think athleisure is the king of comfort. Nothing beats chilling in your sweats all day, you know what I mean?😎

Many of these items are built for functionality and maximum mobility, which makes athleisure items exactly what you need especially during this time when almost everyone is staying at home. Let me just say, such clothes are perfect for Netflix and chill.✌

Another reason to try it is because it’ll help build up your casual style. If you’re like me and you enjoy dressing up, most of the time the casual end of your wardrobe suffers terribly😣. A great way to ensure that doesn’t happen is to try something casual and athleisure is a good place to start.

But if you don’t fancy looking like you just came from or you are going to the gym, you can add on some other item that’s casual and more presentable on top of say your hoodie. A denim or bomber jacket will be perfect for this.

When it comes to footwear, I’d definitely recommend a casual pair of runners or sneakers that are comfortable. But if you’re at home, a pair of slides is ideal.

Once you master the basics of athleisure, you can get more creative with how to rock it! You could throw on some color here and there as well as get playful with your footwear.


I hope you find this blog post helpful somehow even when you’re quarantining and chilling! Let me know what your thoughts are on athleisure in the comments section below! Thanks so much for stopping by! Remember, please #STAYSAFE #STAYATHOME. It’ll be over soon. ✌

Leave a comment